Alice’s Favorite Flower

Written by: Alice Lucas, intern

Hi flower readers! My name is Alice. I’m currently working at the magazine as the summer photography intern and learning so much about flowers! I am going to take you through a trip down memory lane to tell you about my favorite flower. Do you remember things from when you were little and how special they made you feel? Well, that is how I came to love roses.

When I was a little girl, my family had a rose garden right outside my bedroom window. On the weekends my dad would water and trim the roses, and sometimes my brother, sister, and I would help. After watering, we would go through every bush and pick some roses to cut, and my dad would always remind me to watch out for the thorns.  Inside the house, my mom would put out different vases for us to choose from so that we could put arrangements in my sister’s room, my room, and around the house. She always let my sister and I choose which roses/colors we wanted in our arrangements, and most of the time I chose pink. Back then, it was my favorite color, and now, I still really love pink roses.

Years later, when I was a sophomore in high school, one of my friends received a bouquet of roses that were pink. When I saw the bouquet, I noticed all of the roses were dying except one. I took a picture of it, and it’s been one of my favorite pictures ever since.

Photo Credit: Alice Lucas

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Christina said,

    alice,
    i absolutely love this photo. it made me smile.
    : )


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

