Three Southern Cities, Part Two

Comte de Chambord rose

‘Twas the day of the Alabama/Florida football game (the SEC championship game) in Atlanta. I, hailing from Birmingham, Alabama, found myself in front of 300 people at the 2009 Art & Antiques Show in Jacksonville (I was pretty pumped that so many folks were still in town). I spoke on antique roses and roses in antiques, did a PowerPoint presentation, and then demonstrated a couple of arrangements using exquisite antique roses that had been sent to me gratis from my good buddy, Eleanor Clevenger, at Transflora in Miami.

When finished, I toured the show and was exhilarated and inspired by the caliber of antiques at the show—so much so, that I felt compelled to purchase an exquisite Majolica pitcher emblazoned with, of course, a flower.

Tuscany Superb rose

That afternoon, I toured the Cummer’s gem-like museum and gardens with a real pistol of a grand-dame, Bobby Arnold. On the heels of that aesthetic treat, I was given a tour of Preston Haskell’s phenomenal collection of Abstract Expressionist paintings, by the collector himself, and then experienced his beautifully considered and designed sculpture “garden.” After my afternoon of absorbing beauty, I begged off dinner, knowing that most of my potential hosts would be watching “the game” and most likely, I would be a tad uncomfortable in the “enemy camp.”

Veilchenblau rose

As it turned out, I went back to my suite, made a hand-tied arrangement of my leftover antique roses, had a long bubble bath, and watched Hallmark Christmas movies ‘til I fell asleep. Aahh, it’s a tough job, but somebody’s got to spread the flower word. I do hope the housekeeper enjoyed the bouquet.

Oh, and for anyone who doesn’t follow football, my team won.

For tips on how to care for your roses, download this tip sheet from Paul Zimmerman: Rose Tips
Photo credits for antique roses pictured:
Paul Zimmerman

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Hi

    I just started my internet magazine website.

    I love your site and wish you good luck.

    Wish we could extend contacts to share info

    Keep well

    Lucas Lombard


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

